Rootsy logo  
Rootsy logo

Bingham årets artist under AMA Awards
Datum: 2010-09-10

Ryan Bingham tok hjem prisen som Årets Artist under Americana Music Associations 9. Honors and Awards Ceremony i Ryan Auditorium i Nashville i går. Bingham fikk også prisen for årets låt for »Weary Kind« fra filmen »Crazy Heart«, skrevet sammen T Bone Burnett.

Her følger AMAs egen pressemelding om begivenheten. Alle prisvinnerne listes til slutt i saken:

Artistry Wins During 9th Annual Americana Music Association Honors & Awards

NASHVILLE, September 9, 2010 – It was grit instead of glam, authenticity in place of artifice tonight during the Americana Music Association’s 9th Annual Honors and Awards ceremony. Staged in Nashville’s iconic Ryman Auditorium, the event celebrated a year’s worth of soul-searching, torch-lighting roots music. Jim Lauderdale served inimitably again as master of ceremonies, while Buddy Miller led a top-flight house band.

The theme from film Crazy Heart earned 2010 Song of the Year honors: Co-written by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett, “The Weary Kind” also took home an Oscar and a Golden Globe earlier this year. Patty Griffin and Darrell Scott presented the award. Bingham’s big night became explosive as the relative newcomer returned to the stage to accept the Artist of the Year award from presenters Martie Maguire and Emily Robison of the Courtyard Hounds.

The multi-talented Rosanne Cash also enjoyed a memorable evening, as The List received Album of the Year. The acclaimed project is a definitive bridge between contemporary and classic: the disc features 12 interpretations of songs pulled from a famous list of country standards Cash’s legendary father gave her in 1973. 2010 Spirit of Americana Free Speech in Music Award honoree Mary Chapin Carpenter and First Amendment Center President & CEO Ken Paulson presented the award.

Backwoods virtuosos the Avett Brothers walked away with a Duo/Group of the Year win, presented by John Oates and Mary Gauthier, while wry charmer Hayes Carll was crowned New/Emerging Artist of the Year by past winners the Avett Brothers and Grace Potter. Perennial favorite Buddy Miller earned another Instrumentalist of the Year title, presented by the peerless Robert Plant and Gibson Guitar Corp. President Dave Berryman.

2010 Americana Lifetime Achievement Awards were also presented to Wanda Jackson, John Mellencamp, Luke Lewis, Greg Leisz, and Brian Ahern.

Jack White presented the Lifetime Achievement Award in Performance to Wanda Jackson, the undisputed Queen of Rockabilly and Rock and Roll Hall of Famer member, whose growling glamour reshaped the role of women in both rock and roll and country. Wanda celebrated the honor with a charged performance.

Rosanne Cash bestowed the Lifetime Achievement Award in Songwriting on John Mellencamp, whose songs have influentially combined the blue collar sweat of rock and roll and the humble grit of honky tonk. Mellencamp then thrilled the audience with a soulful performance of “Save Some Time to Dream.”

Lucinda Williams took the stage to honor Luke Lewis with the Lifetime Achievement Award for an Executive. The Chairman of Universal Music Group Nashville, Lewis’ visionary commitment to the label’s Lost Highway imprint and other Universal subsets has created a home for numerous Americana greats.

Sam Bush stepped in to present the Lifetime Achievement Award for an Instrumentalist to Greg Leisz, the go-to lap and pedal steel, guitar, mandolin and bass virtuoso who has enriched recordings by Lucinda Williams, Smashing Pumpkins, Whiskeytown, Wilco, Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, Beck and more.

Emmylou Harris led the presentation of the Lifetime Achievement Award for a Producer/Engineer honoring Brian Ahern, whose work as a producer includes seminal albums for Harris, as well as acclaimed output from Marty Robbins, George Jones, Anne Murray, Billy Joe Shaver, Rodney Crowell, Jesse Winchester and Ricky Skaggs.

An unbridled celebration of gutsy roots sounds, the evening was stacked with fiery live performances by Sarah Jarosz, Corb Lund, Minton Sparks featuring Buddy Miller and Don Was, the Carolina Chocolate Drops, Joe Pug, Emmylou Harris featuring Rodney Crowell, Ryan Bingham, Ray Wylie Hubbard, the Avett Brothers, and Jim Lauderdale.

A surprise served as the quintessential Americana finale: Robert Plant ignited the audience with a transcendent half-hour power set.


2010 Americana Honors and Awards recipients

SONG OF THE YEAR: “The Weary Kind” by Ryan Bingham
(Written by Ryan Bingham & T Bone Burnett)

Jack Emerson Lifetime Achievement Award for Executive: LUKE LEWIS
Lifetime Achievement Award for Instrumentalist: GREG LEISZ
Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance: WANDA JACKSON
Lifetime Achievement Award for Producer/Engineer: BRIAN AHERN
Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriter: JOHN MELLENCAMP

Läs mer om Bingham, Ryan

Designad för IE6+. Ytligt testad med Opera 7, Netscape 7.2 och Mozilla FireFox. Webdesign Jens Olsson. ©2004 Powered by Notepad, Apache, MySQL & PHP
Denna sida är designad till tonerna av White Stripes och Rodney Crowell.