Rootsy logo  
Rootsy logo

Levon skrur på strømmen
Datum: 2009-04-14

29. juni er det klart for Levon Helms oppfølger til de Grammy-vinnende 2007-plata \»Dirt Farmer\«. \»Electric Dirt\« (Vanguard) er, som forgjengeren, produsert av Larry Campbell og tittelen synes å være en smule inspirert av Levons gamle venn Muddy Waters album \»Electric Mud\«.

Her er pressemeldingen i sakens anledning og låtliste;

Santa Monica – April 13, 2009 – Legendary musician and rock icon Levon Helm will release his second solo record, titled Electric Dirt, on Dirt Farmer Music/Vanguard Records on June 30th. As with Dirt Farmer, multi-instrumentalist Larry Campbell took the reins as producer on the project, recorded at “The Barn” – The Levon Helm Studios.

Electric Dirt again finds Levon steeped in tradition, in his connection to the land and those who live by it. At the same time, he paints a broader musical canvas by incorporating gospel, blues and soul into a wide range of original compositions and eclectic cover songs. “Our objective here was to take the honesty, innocence and purity of the Dirt Farmer record, which represents a true element of what Levon is all about, but also expand on that and explore deeper the gold mine of Levon’s musical artistry,” said Campbell.

Electric Dirt starts with a rousing rendition of The Grateful Dead’s “Tennessee Jed,” moving on to a beautiful, stripped-down version of Happy Traum’s “Golden Bird.” “Growing Trade,” written by Levon Helm and Larry Campbell, tells a heartfelt story of a farmer’s struggle to preserve his livelihood. The rousing horn arrangements by Allen Toussaint and the Levon Helm Band on “Kingfish,” written by Randy Newman, brings the swagger of New Orleans to the forefront.

In 2007, after overcoming seemingly insurmountable odds, Levon released Dirt Farmer, his first solo recording in twenty five years, which went on to win a Grammy for “Best Traditional Folk Album.” The San Francisco Chronicle said, “This album is nothing less than a return to form by one of the most soulful vocalists in rock history.” Rolling Stone went on further to hail Levon Helm’s Midnight Ramble as “2008’s Best Jam Session” and the same year, Levon received the “Artist of the Year” award from the Americana Music Association.

Track Listing:
1) Tennessee Jed
2) Move Along Train
3) Growing Trade
4) Golden Bird
5) Stuff You Gotta Watch
6) White Dove
7) Kingfish
8) You Can’t Lose What You Ain’t Never Had
9) When I Go Away
10) Heaven’s Pearls
11) I Wish I Knew How it Would Feel To Be Free

Läs mer om Helm, Levon

Designad för IE6+. Ytligt testad med Opera 7, Netscape 7.2 och Mozilla FireFox. Webdesign Jens Olsson. ©2004 Powered by Notepad, Apache, MySQL & PHP
Denna sida är designad till tonerna av White Stripes och Rodney Crowell.